Surviving The Storm

Well, if you all know me, you know I’m in Indiana.  The news is completely right, just to let you know.  The world is ending in Indiana and Illinois.  It was good to know you all.  I lived a full life, for the most part.  And also, Carrie, if you can figure out my password, my steam account is yours after I disappear under the sleet.
I kid, I kid.  Yes, it is a damn cold, and it’s storming really damn hard, but it’s not gonna be the end of the world.  We just may lose power for a while, but we’ll be back up and running soon hopefully.  Right now we’ve still got power and heat, so I’m thankful.  Talk to me 24 hours after the power goes out and I may be singing a different tune though.  So while I’m still in a good mood, I wanna talk a bit.
It’s been a crazy couple of days hearing about the storm coming, and trying to figure out what I was going to do.  Everyone was going bonkers and to a degree are still going bonkers.  It happens every once in a while, so I didn’t think twice about it.  Last night though, I was completely and utterly shocked at the amount of sleet that was on the ground.  It looked like it was snowing, but it was just a ton of round pellets of frozen water on top of each other.  Later, I found out that that was also on top of ice.  Not what I wanted to see.  I had closed the lab early at that point so I could still reach Albany in once piece, and it seemed I was nearly too late as it was.  You want some proof?  I closed the lab at 8:30.  I wasn’t starting out until nine.  That half hour was me trying to get ice off my car’s windows, and I didn’t even get them all.  I just got the main windows and the front two side windows.  Then I drove 45 minutes back to Albany.  It should NEVER take 45 minutes.  I pulled in, nearly slid into the yard and front porch as as did so, and moved in for the night, now 24 hours straight.
And Ball State? They didn’t cancel classes.  Why they didn’t, I do not know, but they put a lot of people in danger today.  I know some who will always go to class while it’s in session, even if the conditions are dangerous outside.  I’m glad they’re so dedicated to their class work, but sometimes that makes me worry about them.  I stayed in for the day, even though two of my three classes were in session.  I just didn’t feel like risking my health/life/car to get to class while an ice storm was going on.  Apparently, one of those profs took attendance and is counting today against us if we didn’t show up as well.  I do not get these people sometimes.
It started to get a lot worse about 5 o’clock tonight, when you could hear the wind howling as well as the sleet hitting the walls and the windows with loud thuds.  Every once in a while it just became incessantly loud to the point where it was hard to focus on anything I was doing or watching.  It’s going to be a crazy night tonight, but I’m going to try to keep you all posted as best I can with power changes and the like.  To all in the midwest, take care, be safe, stay home, and stay warm!  It’ll be over soon enough!

***

Might as well do a resolution update while I’m at it.  I may not have another chance (again, a joke).  Sorry I haven’t kept you all as deeply updated in the last couple weeks.  It’s been utter insanity this semester, so updates have been less frequent than I’d like.    I’m going to try and get as many posts as I possibly can done a week, and I’m going to try and write more this week outside of the blog.  My reading slowed to a crawl with The War For Late Night for quite some time, but it finally sped up last week and I blazed through the last 200 or so pages.  I’m finally starting on the other book (the same book that I was going to try to read side-by-side), and I’ve already finished another book, Wil Wheaton’s The Day After And Other Stories, which I absolutely loved!  Yes, if you’re keeping count, that does put me ahead of schedule again!

Keep an eye out on here and take care!

Last Week’s Book:

Wil Wheaton's "The Day After And Other Stories"

Wil Wheaton's "The Day After And Other Stories"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This week’s book:

"American Gods" by Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

