The one that talks about books and such

Folks, I know it’s been a while since I posted.  It’s been kinda an insane week for me, but I know that isn’t the best excuse ever made.  The best excuse ever made is that Eric Terrace, who’s excuse for not getting his homework in one day was that he was fading out of existence slowly.  This meant that for a while he was becoming less and less corporeal, and that meant he was actually not able to physically use a pencil or pen for the homework his teacher had assigned.  She didn’t believe him.  He blipped out of the physical universe completely in the middle of her class that day, but she is still badgering his parents for the now 5 years of back homework he owes her.

I think I’ve been listening to a little too much of The Bugle lately.  This week’s philosopher pun-a-thon must had mushed my brain a bit.

Still, there’s things to talk about at this point.  I have been doing some writing (mostly in one of my notebooks) this week, and it’s really actually been quite nice.  Also, I’m finally getting caught back up in my reading.  June wasn’t the best month I’ve ever had, for multiple reasons that won’t be discussed at this moment of time; but July has been a fantastic month for reading for me. 

Looking back through the blog, it looks like the actual last book I mentioned working on was actually Neil Gaiman’s American Gods (an absolutely outstanding read, if I may say).  There’s been quite a bit of reading since then.  When I was still on my web design info binge, I read through HTML5: Up and Running which was my first ever O’Reily tech book.  I’m incredibly excited about that because it feels like I’ve finally earned some geek cred.  I need to get a copy of the new edition of Rhino at some point and really get into the nitty gritty of Javascript.  Could come in handy some day.  I read through Brian Greene’s first book on string theory The Elegant Universe, then a couple short form books (nothing to shake a stick at, but reads that count none the less).  Then the reading list moved back into the major league of books: full on novels.  I finally read The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, and I utterly enjoyed it.  It was a long read, but worth it.  I threw in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows as well as it’s companion book The Tales of Beedle the Bard in there as I was going to see the final Harry Potter film.  I finally powered through and finished Snow Crash, which I’ve been meaning to do since I got back from Austin with a copy.  That book is dense as hell.  Still good, mind you,  but dense!  After that I read The Hunger Games.  I’d heard outstanding things about the book ahead of time, and they’re all true.  I still need to read the two sequels, Catching Fire and Mockingjay, before I make a full decision on the story though.  The book ends where it feels the next book begins, so I don’t know if I can truly judge the story on it’s merits as of yet.

We are now caught up to the present.  The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo was the first book I finished this month, so as you can see, it’s been a lot of reading all month long.  Even with that much reading though, there’s still more to come.  I’m in the middle of Wicked by Gregory Maguire.  Yes, THAT Wicked.  The one that became a broadway musical (which I still plan to see some day).  The book is quite good once you get past the first section.  Near every character there is so despicable that it’s really tough to get through.  It is absolutely worth it when Elphaba reaches Shiz though.  I’m hoping to have that done before this coming Friday, so I can move on to another novel.  I’m trying to decide whether it will be Neil Gaiman’s Stardust, or William Gibson’s Neuromancer.  If you have a vote one way or the other, let me know in the comments.

I am reading a second book at the same time, as of last night.  Yesterday, I had to run into town with my parents, so I ended up getting to spend some time in Books*A*Million, looking through all the books I couldn’t buy.  I found a few in there that seemed like a lot of fun, so I picked it up and decided I’d read a few pages.  I stopped after I read the intro though.  The book was John Scalzi’s Fuzzy Nation.  Ok, I’ll admit that part of the reason I picked it up was that Wil Wheaton liked it enough to do the audio book.  I’m dying to listen to that as well.  Still, back to the point at hand:  I stopped before I even reached the main text.  The intro was written to let people know that the book was based off of a science fiction classic called Little Fuzzy written originally by H. Beam Piper.  He recommended reading that before reading Fuzzy Nation.  Thankfully, I found out that Little Fuzzy is one of the free books that I can add to my Kindle.  I promptly did so, and now I’m reading that.  It’s a much shorter book than Wicked is, so I’m expecting to be done with it tomorrow.

I’ve got more book and writing related subjects to write about on here, but I think you all are probably more than tired of reading my rambling prose about this and that.  I’ll save it for another time (possibly), or just move on into another subject all together next time I post (most likely).  How ever this finds you, I hope it finds you well, and still corporeal enough to use your computer.

Leave a Reply

