Hello 2012, I’m Josh. It’s nice to meet you.

Happy 2012, nearly sixteen days out! 

I’m glad to be back on the internet, though I could use a better situation than I currently seem to be in.  I’ll get that out of the way now.

I’m back to being unemployed.  I can’t get unemployment because I didn’t earn enough in the last three jobs I was in, but I’m still going to be setting up at WorkOne here in the next few days.  Hopefully, that can defer my loans for a bit.

I’m in no way going to let that keep me down though.

I’m back on the net more than I had been previous, but it was actually to do something more productive than I’ve done in quite some time: I finally re-created my portfolio site!  To add to the excitement of that, I finally have my own domain.  You can find the site (which is still being worked on currently) at http://www.joshuamcampbell.com. Yes, that’s right. I’ve got a friggin’ dot com after my name. I’m officially a member of the Internet, after all these years.  Keep an eye on it for updates, and at some point, a move of this blog to that site. I haven’t decided completely, but I may re-design the site every once in a while (every few months) while I don’t have a job, if I still don’t have a job for quite some time. We’ll see where it goes from here.

Otherwise, this is a new year, with all new challenges, all new plans, and all new… new waiting for me to find it. I’ve got a few plans that aren’t job related on the horizon. I’m going to participate in Script Frenzy come this April, just to see if I can get myself to do it. I’m going to be writing again for NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) in November, considering I missed it last year. I’m going to be working with Vickie again on the project we started late last year, hoping to have a full script ready before Script Frenzy starts. I’m in yet another personal read-a-thon this year, though I’m shrinking my goal from 52 to 45 books this year. At the pace I’m moving already, though, I could quite possibly beat that out.

This year, I’m going to do something that I haven’t done previously that needs to be done sooner rather than later: I’m going to treat myself better. I don’t eat terribly well. I don’t exercise much (not having my bike changed that quite a bit). I’m drinking more tea than I am soda any longer, but I could still probably do for cutting out soda all together. I’m normally incredibly hard on myself, too. This year I plan on making at least a micro change in each of those areas.

2012 is a new beginning, and I’m excited to see where it takes me.

Leave a comment