Saturdays

Time isn’t a straight line. It’s all… bumpy-wumpy. There’s loads of boring stuff. Like Sundays and Tuesdays and Thursday afternoons. But now and then there are Saturdays. Big temporal tipping points when anything’s possible.

-The Doctor

Ok, so I may not travel through time (damn), or save the universe on a regular basis (damn), and I may not even have a job (damn), but for some reason, that line still rings true.  Since we were all kids, Saturdays were the most exciting days of the week.  You could be in school, in the middle of the summer, or even graduated and an adult, but still Saturday seems to hold some promise that something incredible could happen.

It’s Saturday now where I am, but I still see Saturday as a day where I can do anything.  I try to rebuild my skills on a guitar, I can write, I can decide to watch a movie.  I’m in control of what that day is, and it could become anything.  The only reason those are the only options currently is because it’s snowing and cold as hell.  I’d rather not deal with it unless I’d have to.  But still, even there, I’ve got other worlds I can visit through those books, movies and games, giving me some amazing adventures no matter what.

You know, I really love Saturdays.

Leave a comment